Cutting the Cable Ties

Last year, when we moved out of our one-bedroom apartment and into a house, we didn’t bring the cable bill with us.  I regret nothing. It has been the most liberating and free year I’ve had without real television.  In January we got rabbit ears so we could watch the Super Bowl, but to this day we rarely watch regular television.  And I couldn’t be happier.

It has forced me to really watch the things I really WANT to watch.  Mostly because I don’t have the DVR to record everything that could remotely be interesting.  And it’s pretty cool.  And it has also forced me to discover the magic that is the internet medium that is producing quality programming.  Shows like Dr. Horrible, The Guild and Bandwagon have really paved the way for me in becoming interested in shows that aren’t necessarily on traditional television.  And it’s pretty cool.

I haven’t really been interested in Netflix just yet.  But I have been frequenting Hulu more often to catch up on the shows that are currently out.  For shows that are older and on DVD, I can usually find things I haven’t seen yet on Hulu, but my DVD player has also been getting a solid workout.  And from what I understand, I am not the only person who has done this yet.

Are YOU ready to cut the cable ties?

Leave a Reply

